Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed

McCollum, Franks Lead Bipartisan Letter Urging Speaker Ryan to Prioritize Religious Freedom in Meeting with Indian PM Modi

June 7, 2016
Press Release

Today, a bipartisan group of 18 House members – led by Representatives Betty McCollum (D-MN) and Trent Franks (R-AZ) – wrote to Speaker Paul Ryan urging him to prioritize religious freedom in India during his meeting tomorrow with Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi, especially in light of ongoing violence and harassment against religious minorities, including Muslims, Christians, Buddhists, and Sikhs.

“We respectfully request that during your meetings with the Prime Minister, the ‘shared value’ of the fundamental right of religious freedom will be a priority in your conversation. Religious minority communities – including Muslims, Christians, Buddhists, and Sikhs – have endured ongoing violence and harassment for decades in India, and continue to live in a climate where known perpetrators commit violence with impunity,” the Members of Congress wrote. “It is in the best interest of the United States and India to reaffirm religious freedom as a shared value in this growing partnership, and ensure that conversation concerning justice and accountability for such horrific acts of violence continues.”

In the letter, the lawmakers cite several specific examples of violent attacks that have killed or displaced religious minorities. Human rights groups in India have investigated and traced these attacks to specific groups, but a current climate of impunity exists in India around such attacks and many victims never receive justice.

“The important relationship between India and the United States is based on our shared democratic values. Religious minorities in India – Muslims, Christians, Buddhists, and Sikhs – deserve the freedom to live out their faith without fear,” Representative McCollum said. “As we celebrate the strong bilateral partnership between India and the United States, we must continue to prioritize religious freedom for all Indians.”

In addition to Representatives McCollum and Franks, Representatives Chris Smith (R-NJ), Juan Vargas (D-CA), André Carson (D-IN), Keith Ellison (D-MN), Patrick Meehan (R-PA), Keith Rothfus (R-PA), Randy Weber (R-TX), Dan Kildee (D-MI), Mike Honda (D-CA), John Conyers, Jr. (D-MI), John Garamendi (D-CA), Robert Aderholt (R-AL), Anna Eshoo (D-CA), Joe Pitts (R-PA), Barbara Lee (D-CA), and David Valadao (R-CA) signed the letter to Speaker Ryan.