Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed

Minnesota Democrats in Congress Introduce Resolutions Honoring 2020 Olympic and Paralympic Athletes

September 22, 2021
Press Release
H.Res.625, H.Res.650, S.Res.370, S.Res.371 Recognize Minnesota Athletes for Achievements in Summer Games  

Congresswoman Betty McCollum (MN-04), joined by Reps. Angie Craig, Dean Phillips, and Ilhan Omar, and jointly with Senators Amy Klobuchar and Tina Smith, have introduced resolutions honoring the Minnesotans who competed in the 2020 Tokyo Olympic and Paralympic Games.

“Minnesota is so proud of our athletes who represented Team USA at the 2020 Tokyo Olympics and Paralympics,” Rep. McCollum said. “The commitment, grit, determination, and sportsmanship these athletes displayed represented our state well on the global stage. The 17 Olympians and 15 Paralympians from Minnesota are an inspiration to us all – including the first Hmong American to represent Team USA and the many others who brought medals home amid COVID-19 concerns and other challenges. With H. Res. 625 and H.Res. 650, I offer my most sincere congratulations to you all!”

“Minnesota has a long history of producing some of the most talented Olympians and Paralympians in the world, and this year was no exception,” Sen. Klobuchar said. “I am extremely proud of these Minnesota athletes and all the members of Team USA who represented our country. With these resolutions, we recognize their remarkable achievements.”

“A heartfelt congratulations to every Minnesotan who competed in the Olympics and Paralympics,” said Sen. Smith. “You really put the best of our state on display during the games, all while overcoming the challenge of competing under the difficult circumstances that COVID-19 presented. Your talent, drive and hard work inspired all of us in Minnesota as we watched you compete. Congratulations to your families, friends and coaches who supported you along the way as well. I hope that you all feel the pride and joy we have for you.”

“This summer, Olympians and Paralympians from Minnesota made us all proud as they competed in Tokyo as members of Team USA,” said Rep. Craig. “I’m honored to help introduce this resolution recognizing all of their remarkable achievements during the 2020 Olympic and Paralympic Games – and especially those of Second District athletes Josie Aslakson, Abby Baulek, Josh Cinnamo, Ben Goodrich, Payton Otterdahl, Ian Seidenfeld, Regan Smith, Patrick Sunderman and Mallory Weggemann.”

“We are incredibly proud of the 17 Olympians and 15 Paralympians from Minnesota who represented Team USA this year,” Rep. Phillips said. “Despite the challenges they faced, with a global community grappling with the COVID-19 pandemic, these athletes exhibited resilience and dedication without fail. I commend these remarkable young men and women for their hard work, and congratulate them for the medals they brought home. They will continue to inspire us all.”

“I’m incredibly proud of the Minnesotans who represented our country on the world stage,” said Rep. Omar. “Every athlete displayed grace, determination, and resilience throughout the games in Tokyo. Their commitment and love for their sport served as an inspiration to all of us watching at home. I’m thrilled to join my colleagues to formally recognize Minnesota athletes for their achievements in the 2020 Olympic and Paralympic Games.”

The text of H.Res.625 can be found here. The text of H.Res.650 can be found here. More information on S.Res.370 can be found here. More information about S.Res.371 can be found here.