Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed

McCollum, Young Introduce House Counterpart Legislation to Address Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorders

February 7, 2020
Press Release

Congresswoman Betty McCollum (DFL-Minn.) and Congressman Don Young (R-AK) introduced H.R. 5790, the Advancing Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorders Research, Prevention, and Services Act today in the U.S. House of Representatives. The bipartisan legislation is counterpart to S.2879, which has been introduced in the U.S. Senate.

Congresswoman McCollum released the following statement:

“Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorders, or FASD, impact an alarmingly high percentage of children and adults in the U.S, and research and investments in FASD have been historically underrecognized,” McCollum said. “In Minnesota, important work by Proof Alliance – our state’s chapter of National Organization on Fetal Alcohol Syndrome (NOFAS) – have established best practices for the prevention, recognition, and treatment of FASD. This legislation builds on this success, charting a comprehensive path on a national level to address this health issue on a wider scale. I look forward to working with my colleagues on both sides of the aisle to make progress in addressing the needs of Americans living with this disability.”   

Congressman Don Young added:

“Too many families in Alaska and across our nation have been affected by FASD, and we should be doing all that we can to raise awareness of the many ways to prevent this tragic condition,” Young said. “I am proud to support this legislation which takes important steps to help inform pregnant mothers and prevent the development of FASD and its related effects. I thank my colleagues on both sides of the aisle for helping to support families by coming together on this crucial legislation.”


  • Congresswoman McCollum welcomed Susan Shepard Carlson, founder of the Minnesota chapter of the National Organization on Fetal Alcohol Syndrome (NOFAS), as her guest for the State of the Union address.
  • A fact sheet with more information about H.R. 5790 is available here.
  • The full text of the bill can be found here. Original co-sponsors of H.R. 5790 are: Rep. Don Young (AK-AL); Rep. Tom Cole (OK-04); Rep. Dean Phillips (MN-05); Rep. Ilhan Omar (MN-05); Rep. Angie Craig (MN-02); Rep. Debra Haaland (NM-01)